picture-6

A week ago I made a post on this blog voicing my concern about the current status of (graphic) design in NJ and it’s representation via the ADCNJ. I spoke about my experience with the group, and I how I felt about the role that the ADCNJ plays within the larger design community in our state.
This post was made to spark a discussion amongst designers, professionals and creatives in general about how the ADCNJ can evolve and improve. I feel that it is critical that design organizations accurately represent the ideals, aesthetics and values associated with their members, as the AIGA does globally and the ADC does in NYC. I was frustrated  because there are a number of great design firms and designers in NJ doing amazing work, and a number of people that have been supporting design in NJ for a number of years (Smith Design being at the forefront of them). However, I’m always surprised (and upset) to see that those individuals are not clearly represented, in my opinion. The post was not meant to be malicious or offensive in any way, but to make readers think about the way designers in NJ are representing themselves. I want people to look at NJ design the way they look at NY design, London design, etc. I hold myself and the people around me to the highest standard and constantly try to improve because we are all capable of growing and creating work that is effective and beautiful. It’s time to show the world that great design comes out of NJ.

I want to apologize for the blog coming off in the wrong way to some people, it was meant to create a forum for discussion and although I don’t agree with some of the comments made, in an open forum you cannot always dictate the direction a discussion heads.

I also want to make it clear that my professors as well as my partner Jason Alejandro were not at all responsible or aware of the post that I had made. I, Matthew Senna,(Matthew_Senna@Msenna.com) am 100% responsible for the things I said and am the only person that should be contacted about them. This is about making change; changing the way that the world views the design community in NJ and the professionals and students that are a result of it. Shape the future of design in NJ.

