GOOD FOLK #6: Atsuko Tanaka 

36_37-1

1dsc0030_edit_219

 

ATSUKO TANAKA

WHERE ARE YOU FROM? 

Tokyo, Japan.

WHAT DOES YOUR WORK CONSIST OF? 

Taking pictures, editing, retouching and sometimes finding models and locations

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED? 

After I graduated college in L.A., I moved to NY.  I brought my book to some music magazines to get some work.  One magazine liked my work and they started giving me opportunities to shoot 

those Hip Hop artists that I had dreamed of.  I think I was very fortunate.

WHAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT WHAT YOU DO? 

That I can leave “the moment” in the photo and it’ll live forever.

WHAT IS THE WORST THING ABOUT WHAT YOU DO?

Carrying heavy equipments.

IF YOU WEREN’T _________, WHAT WOULD YOU BE DOING? 

Who knows?  I can’t think of it.  I’ll think about it when I stop doing it.  I’m just thankful that I’m still doing this.

WHAT INSPIRES YOU? 

Everything I feel through my senses.

WHERE DOES CREATIVITY COME FROM? 

I think it comes from my feelings, experience and imagination.  Everything I had experienced whether it’s good or bad, it stays in my brain and body.  Even I’m not conscious of most of the stuff, it’s in me and sometimes I picture images and get ideas that I think are come from those(my feelings, experience and imagination).

WHO’S WORK DO YOU LOOK UP TO? 

I respect anybody who’s hard worker and successful at what he or she does.  For photographers, I like Solve Sundsbo, Annie Leibovitz, Anthony Ward, Craig McDean and etc..there are so many.

WHAT DOES THE FUTURE LOOK LIKE FOR YOUR INDUSTRY? 

There will be no papers, cameras are getting cheaper, anybody can take pretty good pictures…I hope I”m still surviving somehow.  Only God knows…

WHAT CAN WE EXPECT FROM YOU NEXT? 

I’m working on my own projects.  I hope people will like it and  have a book of my work published.  

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO OTHER PEOPLE IN YOUR FIELD ASPIRING TO GET TO WHERE YOU ARE TODAY? 

Being passionate about what you do, open yourself to others, try to do different things and have lots of experience, work hard and never give up(I think that’s the hardest thing, not giving up)!

ONE DEFINING MOMENT OF YOUR CAREER SO FAR. 

I think it was when I shot  Mr. Takeshi Kitano because we were surrounded by so many people and that made me soooo nervous.  I didn’t have much experience at that time.

WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW? 

Right now, nothing…because I was seriously thinking about your questions….

 

Thanks to the big hommie QUE of Peace Denim for connecting us with Atsuko!

