GOOD FOLK #5: Osa / CompleteTechnique

ten-1008eight-1

Osa

CompleteTechnique

WHERE ARE YOU FROM?

I came from NAGOYA in Japan at 1999.

WHAT DOES YOUR WORK CONSIST OF?

I’m Jeweler.  And own company : CompleteTechnique since 2005.

And Making custom Jewelry and mass production in New York.

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED?

I went to FIT 2001.  And took basic class ( wax curving ) in summer time.  Then I decided to make Jewelry by my self.  Also I found Japanese professor at FIT, and I learned from him for 2 and half years.

WHAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT WHAT YOU DO?

Creation.   I can make anything what I want.  It’s really hard to make it, But After I finish my project, I am very happy that I could.

WHAT IS THE WORST THING ABOUT WHAT YOU DO?

I do mass production in China.  And it’s really difficult to manage production with them.

IF YOU WEREN’T _________, WHAT WOULD YOU BE DOING?

If I am not Jewelry Designer,  I might be the man who make Japanese sword.

WHAT INSPIRES YOU?

Most of my Jewelry are inspired from Audio equipment.  I really like the designs.

WHERE DOES CREATIVITY COME FROM?

I think it came from my childhood.  I made a lot of Japanese plastic models of Animation character  and Tank, Battle Ship ( YAMATO)  etc.

WHO’S WORK DO YOU LOOK UP TO?

Thunderdog studios

Staple Design

Rock smith

WHAT DOES THE FUTURE LOOK LIKE FOR YOUR INDUSTRY?

I don’t know what’s gonna be…   But I just try to make anything that my customer wants, also make new stuff that I really like.

Also I want to do that nobody does.

WHAT CAN WE EXPECT FROM YOU NEXT?

Well,  I will start make more Camera series.  It will be really fun.  Because I like camera too.

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO OTHER PEOPLE IN YOUR FIELD ASPIRING TO GET TO WHERE YOU ARE TODAY?

It’s very difficult for me to be here today. Because I’m foreigner.  So I have to get visa from US immigration,  Then  I had to start my company, because I wanted to make my Jewelry.  Not someone’s work.  However it has a lot of risk to start Jewelry business. It needs a lot of money to make samples and set up production in out of country.  So take time to set up all production and business tools before you start official business.

ONE DEFINING MOMENT OF YOUR CAREER SO FAR.

I did collaboration with 55DSL in this winter.  I’m happy that I could do with them.

WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW?

Well,  I listen a lot of music… People think I listen Hip Hop a lot.  But I like Classic,  Jazz,  Soul,  Punk Rock..  etc.   Especially,  I listen classic when I work at my workshop.  I can be relax and focus on Jewelry making. If I listen Hip Hop, It makes me go out…..

